Facebook "Instant Personalization"

As of yesterday, there is a NEW PRIVACY setting called "Instant Personalization" that shares data with non-Facebook websites and it is automatically set to "Allow."

As resident web-geek, I had a look at this... It shares only what you have set to share with 'Everyone' in your privacy settings. However, FB privacy settings are set to completely open as default. So, if you have not already taken care of this, what you REALLY need to do, if you've not done it, is go to the Account > Privacy Settings menu item (top right corner) and take the time to drill through all the items there. This not only will protect you NOW at the level privacy you want, it will protect you in the future when FB adds some stupid new sharing 'feature' like this.

Not that I'm saying you shouldn't go uncheck that box, if you want to, it's just that, if you already have your settings such that you limit what you share, it's not really a big issue.